Follow us on
Search Search in the site

The four kingdoms of medieval Sardinia

The four kingdoms of medieval Sardinia

The four kingdoms of medieval Sardinia

The artistic expression that best expresses the originality of judicial Sardinia is Romanesque architecture, characterized both by adherence to the international European language and by the elaboration of local characters.
The landscape includes a considerable number of churches and castles, which represent one of the most significant elements of the island's historic landscapes.

Most of the medieval Sardinian castles date back to the 11th-13th century, which came to us in a state of suggestive ruins, isolated on the peaks of modest hilly emergencies from above which it was possible to control the territory and communication routes.
On the contrary, Romanesque churches are often preserved intact in their original structures and therefore constitute the ideal field of study of the phenomena of importation of models and their adaptation to local needs.

They are arranged mainly along the road that leads from Cagliari to Porto Torres, but they are distributed throughout the territory.
The result is the different “color” of the buildings depending on their location. In fact, the builders used materials available in the geographical area in which the monument was supposed to be built, which was thus harmoniously inserted into the natural landscape and still characterizes it today: in Gallura we find golden granite buildings, as you descend towards the center of the island, the use of dark volcanic stones prevails, often associated with clear sedimentary stones; in the Campidani, limestone with warm tones prevails.

Since the end of the 13th century, Gothic art has been established, in two lines: the Italian one (in continuity with the Romanesque one) and the Catalan one, linked

to the arrival of the Aragonese.


20/9/2023 - 11:15


Write a comment